Copyright � 2006-2010 russface.diaryland.com

russface's Diaryland diary
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:48 a.m. - 2008-09-01
Buzzed

I'm trying to encourage the bees in our pool area to leave. I'm burning a citronella candle (goes out often) and a little oil pot with citronella scented tiki fuel in it.

This technique encourages them to crawl off the nest, usually to the other side. When both smoke pots are working, they go above the nest; so then I put one on top of a brick, and they move back down. Mind you, they are so docile that I'm able to walk up and adjust these apparatus without fear of stings. I even came into the house with one on my arm. It didn't sting me. They aren't happy bees. I think they're hurt from my torment of them.

"Why is he putting these torches near us, causing us to singe our wings? Look at him, sweeping up the bodies of our brave warrior guards into the pool! BZZZZZZZ!"

"THE QUEEN, THE QUEEN! Please Mum; tell us what to do! He's doing it again!" "AS YOUR QUEEN, I HEREBY ORDER YOU TO SWARM ABOUT!

YOU! OVER THERE! GET SOME OF THOSE WORKERS AND START TO FAN THE HIVE. WHATEVER YOU DO, DON'T STING HIM! HE MAY RESORT TO USING PIF PAF BRAND INSECTICIDE!

TAKE THE HIGH ROAD! TURN THE OTHER THORAX! (My bees find solace and act in a thought out, controlled manner by reading the gospel according to Matthew.)

UPDATE!! My technique seems to have worked. Julie noticed they were gone. Now to scrape the nest off of the window. I didn't see an exodus at all. I wonder if the queen flew or perhaps died causing the others to split.


0 comments

previous - next

Julie's Sandbabies Blog

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!