Copyright � 2006-2010 russface.diaryland.com

russface's Diaryland diary
Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:25 p.m. - 2009-08-16
Back In Dubai

Had two long flights back to Dubai and we slept well on the first leg and stayed awake, for the most part on the second bit.

We all slept well that first night as we went to bed around 0200. The jet lag has set in now though. I was up at 0200 and only managed a couple of 'naps' totaling maybe an hour or two. That's not good. I should have stayed awake. I'll probably be suffering tonight but will max out on melatonin, again and have a couple of drinks (which will probably wake me up in the middle of the night.

Lyra's off of school so I can't really go to the club to work out and it's a bit too hot for me to consider going to the pool.

Looking forward to having all friends back so we can party.

This is the first year I missed HopFest and I don't really care.


3 comments

12:05 p.m. - 2009-08-06
Going To State Fair

Well, I've been doing tons of stuff none of which seems to get done.

We almost bought a house that we've admired over the years. We offered, they countered, we countered, they stopped and took an offer that had contingencies. It does not look good for us and the house at this point.

Donned chest waders and went smallmouth bass fishing with my bro-in-law. He had the hot hand as usual bringing two nice ones to hand before releasing them. He had one shake as he was holding it and hooked himeself so badly that he needed to thread the hook through his thumb before using my hemostats to flatten the barb where he could get it out again.

Our team in the RW24 Bike Race accomplished all we set out to do. I don't know why I expected to see more people from my past there, after all, why would I expect the fat and old to be taking part when they're probably surfing the idiot box?

Much of my time has been taken up with spending time with Lyra. I could go out more after she's in bed but I'm usually pretty well spent by that time and if I pop one of my pills, I won't get back to sleep. Don't worry, I have a prescription.

Beer has not been tasting so good to me as of late and for that, I'm actually kind of thankful. And I've been substituting nothing; and for that, I'm thankful. I COULD but I'm not.

Lyra's been in a dance workshop, all day, day camp thing this week. She's torn about staying long enough to finish her project and going to the fair. Dawdling going on around here and I'm not in a huge hurry to get there but I think my sister is.

Went to a house party on Saturday and it was fun with a lot of good food. My contribution was some sweets that I received for my anniversary (but not all of them) and my presence.

Found out today that we're actually heading back to Dubai a day earlier than I had thought. I'm cool with that as I got most of the stuff done at our house that I set out to accomplish. I still need to go whack a bunch of goldenrod that's taking over (hint: If you plant native prairie plants, go easy on the goldenrod). It's attractive enough but quite aggressive. Maybe zig-zag goldenrod is different but I won't know because I won't chuck it in carelessly.

I can't wait to be back home here in Milwaukee. It's too much fun and I miss doing 'projects' and helping others with theirs.

So, that's all I can think about at this juncture. Still need to jam with people. It's going to be tough!


0 comments

previous - next

Julie's Sandbabies Blog

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!